Counting into a solo

JohnMachado

Blues Newbie
Good afternoon,
I was wondering how to go about counting the notes to the opening riff to the solo in Pink Floyd's "Brick in the Wall". I'm relatively new to counting and can't seem to get it correct. I've used a metronome to keep time, but feel that there's a better way to count it out. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. TIA

Paleo

Student Of The Blues
First figure out the count without a metronome.

Measure 1 has a half rest (beats 1 & 2), 4 16th notes (beat 3), then 2 8th notes (beat 4). Measure 2, a whole note.

I would count: 1 2 3 e and uh 4 and for measure 1, then 1 2 3 4 for measure 2.

Last edited:

JohnMachado

Blues Newbie
First figure out the count without a metronome.

Measure 1 has a half rest (beats 1 & 2), 4 16th notes (beat 3), then 2 8th notes (beat 4). Measure 2, a whole note.

I would count: 1 2 3 e and uh 4 and for measure 1, then 1 2 3 4 for measure 2.
Thank you very much for the response. Unfortunately, it only confused me further. I think that I'm going to have to find a course on counting as I've done the 1,2,3,4 and the 1,e,and, uh, 2, e, etc. I've not seen counting combos that used both.

Paleo

Student Of The Blues
I've not seen counting combos that used both.
You could be consistent and count 16th notes all the way through: 1 e and uh 2 e and uh, etc.

But you don't need to since you won't be striking a new note on every count.

With a half rest to start I don't need to count subdivisions: 1 e and uh 2 e and uh.

I can just count on the beats: "1 2 ", then come in on beat 3.

Or I could count the rest as "1 e and uh 2 e and uh" and come in on 3. It's up to you.

Beat 3 has 4 sixteenths notes so I do need to count the subdivisions and play on each one: 3 e and uh

Beat 4 is 2 eighth notes so I count 4 and and play a note on each count.

Or again, I could count 4 e and uh, but I'm only playing a new note on the 4 and the and.