G Dorian relative

JohnHurley

Rock and Roll
So blues in G ...

Griff did an all access thing on modes tuesday. I can do G major scale in Ionian ( starting on root ) or Dorian ( not starting on root ). That's called parallel I guess.

What notes would be in the G Dorian relative scale? I think I need to start working in some scales using Dorian relative for the blues stuff ...

When you listen to Griff on a video it seems to clear he like hypnotizes you and you think you are understanding it yikes. Then later it is like woah how does that work what frets do you play again?

MikeS

Student Of The Blues
Staff member
I'm no expert on modes, but unless I'm way off base they all use the same notes just starting from a different note.
Ionian starts on the G
Dorian Starts on the A (2nd note in the scale)
Phrygian starts on the B (3rd note in the scale)
and so on.

The difference between them is in which not you put emphasis (Tonal Center)

Paleo

Student Of The Blues
So blues in G ...

(Note: Griff was not dealing with Blues in last Tuesday's session.:))

In a Blues in G, relative scales are irrelevant.:confused:

You want to think in terms of parallel scales.

Do you want to play G Major Pentatonic or G Minor Penatonic or G Dorian or G Mixolydian.

All options are scales that start with G.

Using the parallel mode formulas:

G Dorian will have a Bb and F natural (b3 and b7) and G Mixolydian will have an F natural (b7).

You could, however, think in relative terms.

This is where Griff's "Modes Unleashed" course comes it.

It deals with diatonic chord progressions, not Blues progressions.

They are different "animals".

A blues progression isn't even all in one key, much less a mode.

What notes would be in the G Dorian relative scale?

G Dorian is the 2nd mode of F major so you could think F Major from G. (G A Bb C D E F)

G Mixolydian is the 5th mode of C Major so you could think C Major from G. (G A B C D E F)