Greetings from the Carolina lowcountry

tinkerdemon

Don't lick it.
Hey, y'all, I'm Dave. Just joined up today, signed up for the all access pass because I really have no idea where I want to land first in terms of lessons. I've been noodling around w/the guitar for a little over 30 years now.. never anything serious, just making noise and annoying friends & family. I've always loved the blues, and my playing style has always leaned in that direction, so here I am. Time to actually try to learn something.

I'm currently feeling my way through a few guitars to see what fits.. so far the Gretsch G5220 clicks really well with me. I've got a Peavey Express amp that I never use.. mostly playing through GarageBand on my iPad w/headphones. GB is surprisingly easy, and being able to play back my efforts backed by drums & bass really adds context to the whole thing, I think. Couldn't really get a feel for the "canned" bass in the app, so I picked up a used Ibanez for $75 to work with.

Been lurking in the forum for about a week now, seems like a super friendly & helpful bunch of folks in here.. looking forward to learning from you all!

Last edited:

matonanjin

Chubby, old guy trying to play some blues.
I've been noodling around w/the guitar for a little over 30 years now.. never anything serious, just making noise and annoying friends & family.

What a coincidence! That's exactly what I do!

Welcome to you, Dave. You've chosen the perfect place to learn those blues you enjoy.

Shodai

Blues Junior
Welcome to the forum!

You've just become a member of an extraordinary group of people, and there is not a friendlier or more helpful forum for a blues guitarist anywhere on the internet!

Drop by often, join in the conversations. As great as the course materials are (and they are great) you will find a wealth of information and a lot of support and encouragement from the members.

You're going to love it here!

BuddyLewis

Blues Newbie