Looper

DavidLylis

Aspiring Bluesman
Is there a recommended looper? I am a beginner but am getting to the point where I would like to lay down some rhythm tracks for solo practice.

CaptainMoto

Blues Voyager
Like most gear these days, you can go deep, go cheap or go big.
There are sooooooooooo many ways to go it's hard to say what's "best".
Having said that, the Ditto is a nice simple pedal with a small format for under $100.

I think the single biggest feature that gets you to the next level is loopers that can store and transfer audio file back and forth with the computer.
Personally, I don't use those.
I've owned many loopers and found the more complicated ones to be more of a project rather then a fun tool.

artyman

Fareham UK
I can recommend a NUX Loop Core, has 6 hours recording time, up to 99 stored tracks and built in drum, can save to and load from PC great pedal $99 from Amazon

dwparker

Bluesologist
I've got a Boss Rc-3. Works fine. I'm not convinced there is a huge difference in the quality between Boss, Digitech, EHX, NuX, etc. at this level of model, and that it really boils down to what features you want.

leftymike01

Blues Newbie
Which looper last well on a Battery power I would like to know?
straightforward to use?,anyone know what looper Griff use in his teaching demos?

dwparker

Bluesologist
In the all access area, the 2018 session on home recording 2 the thumbnail shows Griff using a Boss RC-3 with an additional Boss Fs-5u pedal, probably to help with starts and stops.

Elwood

Blues
RC-3 here. It does way more than I do but it is easy to run simple stuff on. Built like a tank. Tons of storage, I/O. You don't need an expensive BOSS footswitch either, the rc-3 is pricey enough. Battery run time seems great (don't remember) but a simple 9v battery swap gets you up if it does go dead unexpectedly. I use a suitable power supply. Nice simple e-drummer in there too. I saw Griff stomping on one of these and, well,