New Strat Strings

DavidLylis

Aspiring Bluesman
Not to go over previously trodden ground, I replaced the Dimarzio humbucker on my Strat with the Fender Custom Lab Texas, Bridge. As I am fairly new to this, I brought my E String to the guitar shop to find out what gauge was on it when I bought it. The guy fumbled around with the micrometer (not a confidence builder) and said .008. Ok so I buy the best set of .008 strings they have. Like $13 bucks. I string up my strat and the thing buzzes like crazy. The sixth string actually appears like it is flapping)). Ok, so I look this up and find (of course) that the smaller gauge strings reach pitch at a lower tension than larger gauge. Additionally, intonation is off. The guitar is well in tune with open strings but if I play chords at a barred B it is noticeably off. So the next project is to, first, adjust the truss rod as the fretboard no longer has relief, and correct the intonation. Now, from everything I have read, I am not to attempt to adjust intonation with a $30 tuner as they are not accurate enough. So . . .change the strings to a larger gauge ( the guy was clearly wrong. He first said the string was .22, then changed to .008) but it is likely that I am going to have to take it in for setup either way (I think).
Before you comment, yes I realize that toilet training did not go well for me)))

mountain man

Still got the Blues!
Perhaps I need to get a better tuner but I adjust my intonation with the tuners I have on the pedal board. Also, I am restringing my Fenders with 10's these days as the 9's are just to rubber band slinky...... :Beer:

CapnDenny1

Student Of The Blues
I have 9's and they work for me.

It's really about what you like, period. There is some difference in sound, but it also matters how you play. If you like how 8's feel then adjust the guitar to play 8's. If that feels too loose, then try 9's or 10's.