I'm Back

Dale

Blues Newbie
Hello all,

I have been o the list before.

Maybe a little background.

I started playing guitar in 1964 right after seeing the Beatles at Shea Stadium. Now I wasn't actually at Shea Stadium I was in Columbia, South Carolina in a theater watching the Beatles live on closed circuit television. I was inspired. I went out within a week, bought my first guitar and started lessons.

I have tried a lot of different types of guitar, acoustic, electric and back and forth several times. I had a work schedule that made it difficult to find people to play with so I finally settled on thumbpicking. Merle Travis style. Te issue with that was I was never quite comfortable with the music.. I loved blues. I lived near St. Louis, Mo and one night I turned on a public radio station and heard Elmore James. I was hooked. for a while I didn't quite get all of the Blues players but pretty soon I discovered Muddy Waters and then sometime later Robert Johnson. At some point I learned to love a lot of players.

Due to my silly schedule, I started working with acoustic blues and then went on to the Merle Travis stuff but I wanted to play like BB and other great electric guitar players.

I found the guys at Guitar Zoom and bought some lessons but somehow just didn't get into it. I did go to their meeting in Nashville and Griff was there. From the time Grif started talking about Blues Guitar Unleashed, I felt a connection. I talked to Griff and he probably thought I was a beginner because I had been playing acoustic and didn't know about things like loopers and other electric gear.

Anyway when I got home, ordered Blues Guitar unleashed and several other programs. I find them excellent. I got away from the forum because I was spending too much time reading and not enough time practicing and doing other things I should have been doing.

I am back and will try to manage my time better.