Suggestions on problems with holding the pick correctly

TerryMay

Blues Newbie
Hi there, since I took up playing the guitar again right from the start I have been having problems with holding the pick without it rotating in my fingers while playing songs. I started with the correct two finger method but would have to stop maybe a minute into the song as the pick would rotate in my fingers then allowing me not to play the chords correctly, so then I started using three fingers to help stabilize the pick and maybe that helps for awhile but I don't seem to be able to finish a song without having to stop and relocate the pick in my fingers again, "very frustrating" any suggestions of things I might try. I see dunlap or Dunlop makes picks that have a very rough texture to probably help the pick from moving, I am open to suggestions,

Thanks,
Terry

MatthewHonjo

Blues Newbie
Funny I just started learning guitar again after a 10 year break. I found the same problem and experimented with a tone of picks to find the one that fit me best. One of the biggest things I found was the material of the pick was most important for me so it would stop rotating in my fingers. There were two types of picks that I found worked for me. Fender premium picks and V-picks worked for me. I found that the smoother material picks stick to my fingers better than the nylon or your standard tortex picks. I love the v-picks but they are expensive as far as picks go. My suggestion try a bunch and find the one that suits you.

TerryMay

Blues Newbie