The "Blues Construction Kits" & "How To Improvise Blues Solos"

Paleo

Student Of The Blues
Having worked with both, this is how I look at it.

(And I still don't know any licks, per se, so I'm no expert.:sneaky:)

In the "Construction Kits" you have a choice from 5 different licks for each of the 5 positions in the Shuffle Feel and 7 positions in the Slow Blues Feel. That's a total of 25 licks and 35 licks, respectively.

This reminds me of Mr. Potato Head. You have a variety of choices for each body part and you pick one (or a pair) from each. You choose a mouth, a nose, a pair of ears, etc. from several choices for each.

In "How To Improvise" you'll work with the same 5 licks, but rotate them through all the positions.

(With the possibility of using the same lick more than once.)

This would be like building a Mr. Potato Head, then rotating the body parts. Putting the nose where the mouth goes, the mouth where the hair goes, etc.

Then you'll transpose the same 5 licks to a different key.

Then you do the same thing with 5 new licks in a Slow Blues. (A total of 10 licks in the course.)

The construction kits have more total licks, but uses each lick in only one position.

"How to Improvise" has fewer total licks, but emphasizes using each in all positions.

The emphasis of each is different, but eventually you'll want to be able to do it all.

Play a lick in different keys and/or modify it to fit in different positions of a progression (as well as different areas of the fretboard).

If you are just looking for more new licks, go with the construction kits first.

If you're interested in more ideas for modifying licks to fit in more positions, go with "How To Improvise".

Just a suggestion.

I consider them both "essential".

Last edited:

Silicon Valley Tom

It makes me happpy to play The Blues!
I have followed that path with those courses, and agree with you 100%.