Live Sound Thanks Drumtrucker! Thanks SOOOO much!

MikeS

Student Of The Blues
Staff member
Now, that may sound like I'm not really thanking him, but in fact he called me the other day, and I don't know if he was poking the GAS bear or if he actually wanted to help, but we talked about the Bose S1 Pro speaker. Another friend had mentioned them to me just before they were released and it sounded interesting for my solo gigs.
A bit of my PA history:
When I started doing solo gigs I went out and bought 2 QSC K12 speakers and a Yamaha MG206c mixer plus all the poles and cables needed. After packing up at 3 am after two gigs, I decided that I REALLY didn't need that massive a sound system, so I bought the Bose L1 1S B2. A fairly compact system. The B2 is the bass module and the "2" indicates that it has two woofers. The damn thing is HEAVY, so I bought the smaller (and lighter) B1.
I've been using this Bose system for about 3 years, but even IT is starting to feel like too much. (Amplifier base, 2 piece speaker mast, Bass module, Tone Match controller (mixer)... at least 2 trips to the car )

So... when Drumtrucker let me know that the new S1 Pro was available it immediately filled my GAS tank.
I've always been amazed by the sound that the several Bose products I own can produce, so I took a leap of faith.
Now, the S1 Pro is small, I mean REALLY small. Like 12x10x11" and 15.7 lbs (Lighter if it will work without the Li battery pack), but (at least in my 10x12 room) it sounds amazing and I can't run it above 25%. My gig last night WOULD have been the perfect place to try it out, but it didn't show up till this afternoon.
I'll try to remember to post again after I've used it at a gig.

CaptainMoto

Blues Voyager
Those look great, demos sound good.
Sure is light!
I'll be interested in your review, particularly given your experience with the other Bose systems.
I'm wondering is the new S1 will push the sound out as far as the others do.

Hope it delivers for you(y)

MikeS