Electric Guitars Fender Strat

jgriff

Blues Newbie
For you Fender guys - and gals, I am looking for advice ... shopping for a Strat, $1,000 or less. What model would be a good deal in that range?

snarf

making guitars wish they were still trees
Really depends on what you're looking for...that's an awful broad question. It's almost as general as saying that you want a 4-door car so what should you get. Can you give a bit more info? Are you looking for new or used or does it matter? Anything specific that you really want it to have (6 point trem vs 2 point vs hard tail, SSS vs SSH, a certain neck profile, MII/C vs MIM vs MIA)? Or do you really care and just want a Strat looking and sounding guitar?

jgriff

Blues Newbie
Wa... I'll go with the later. I am looking for a good looking and sounding Strat, used. I have a total of 2 years experience so you lost me in the details.

snarf

I've got 4 Strats, and I haven't been unhappy with any of them. IMHO, if you just want a Strat, here are some of the ones that I would consider.

• MIM Standard - can be had new for $600 or less. Great all around guitar. Don't let the MIM scare you. Got one and after a good setup it's a great playing guitar.
  • MIA Highway One - they quit making these a few years ago, and can be had used for $600 or $700 if you look. Entry level MIA that are great guitars. They put pups in these that were a little hotter than usual. I've got one, and it tends to be my go-to Strat.
  • MIM 50s Classic - can be had new for $700-ish. Great Strat in classic colors with maple fretboards. I forget which one exactly but it doesn't have the usual C-neck shape that Fender uses now (I think it's got the soft-V, but I'm not positive). Another great guitar for the money. Another one that I've got.