Need Advice: Where is there a course on soloing over 1,4,5 chord changes?

ChicagoNed

Blues Newbie
Hi All,

I have entered my 2nd month of membership and what I want to get out of the site is listed above in the subject line. I am self taught, advanced beginner/intermediate, I play by ear. My eyes gloss over when Griff starts talking about 3rds, 5ths, flatted 7th, etc. There's just no way I can absorb theory. My experience has been that all my teachers picked up guitar at an early age, were music majors and theory is 2nd nature to them.

I am pretty good at the pentatonic scales and boxes in my favorite keys, love shuffles, have my own licks but can't quite understand how and when to do it over the 4th and 5th chords, all I know is try to resolve on the root note. I was on the lessons called Chord by Chord Blues Soloing and had to quit halfway through, I couldn't learn new scales since my pentatonic are imprinted in my brain.

I've looked through about a dozen courses, can anyone point me towards a class about soloing over the chord changes?

Many thanks,

Ned

Last edited:

Paleo

Student Of The Blues
"Killer Blues Solos Made Easy" may be Griff's shortest and most overlooked course.

He cover his "3 Rules" and discusses "target" notes over the chord changes in both minor and Major.

Also a quick intro to bends, pull-offs and slides and last, but not least, a complete solo putting it all together.

A good basic intro to the essentials.

MikeS

Student Of The Blues
Staff member
I'd like to ask a more basic question.
What exactly are you not getting from the course(s) you already own?
I can't think of a single course in Griff's catalogue that doesn't show you how to play over the I, IV & V, Including How To Improvise Blues Solos (ok, maybe the strumming courses and the Theory Course don't).
In the simplest method, just play the minor pentatonic over all three chords. If you are playing in, let's say A, play the A minor pentatonic over the A, the D and the E.