Give Me An A

Silicon Valley Tom

It makes me happpy to play The Blues!
Interesting! I love to read, and history is one of my favorite subjects.

The links below are what I would call: "Give Me An A"

What is the "real frequency" of A? Make that A4 for the sake of clarity. Is it 417, 435, 440 or what? When I started out my quest in music we used the term cycles. 440 cycles per second was said to be the "correct" or "acceptable" frequency for the musical note we call or refer to as A.

When I was six, I began piano instruction, and the first think my teacher, Miss Meyers taught me was "Where is middle C? Then it was off to Bach!

One week after I graduated from Engineering College, the United States decided to embrace the term "hz or Hertz", to replace cycles. After all, we had to keep up with the rest of the world. By the way, I still have my original tuning fork for tuning my guitar. That puppy is 68 years old, and does not required batteries!

Here is an article about the Solfeggio Scale:

Healing Frequencies of the Ancient Solfeggio Scale

https://www.gaia.com/article/healing-frequencies-of-the-ancient-solfeggio-scale

This article includes a number of different frequencies and the result upon humans. Maybe.

But there is that 417 Hz that composers used around the time of Bach.

Then we have:

The “432 Hz vs. 440 Hz” conspiracy theory

https://jakubmarian.com/the-432-hz-vs-440-hz-conspiracy-theory/

You can do a good deal of research on this subject and its history. It is interesting, and perhaps our 440 hz is a reason this world is so "interesting". (y)

Tom

Last edited:

sdbrit68

Student Of The Blues
everything I ever read had to do with difficulty of manufacturing strings in the past, and increasing tension. Orchestras and even church organs could all be tuned differently, the 440hz was more or less a compromise to standardize everything

Silicon Valley Tom

It makes me happpy to play The Blues!