Pedals/Effects Looper vs Riff Recorder

Steve F.

Blues newbie
Still new at this and thinking it may be time to start playing over some basic rhythm tracks.
Looking at the DITTO looper then I saw the Wire Tap Riff Recorder.
I like that the recorder has up to 8 hrs of record, will record multiple riffs, will loop the current riff and unlike the DITTO it saves the riffs/tracks after you shut the thing off.
My question is
Why would I prefer a looper over the recorder? Remember I am pretty new at this so mostly just using this for a training device.

snarf

making guitars wish they were still trees
Got both. Never use the Wire Tap. I played with it for a week after I bought it, and it's been in the closet ever since. I actually bought it to replace the my old looper. It's not a looper. TC Electronics advertises it as a tool to add to your pedal chain so that you can record a riff/song/musical idea/whatever and then be able to easily share it and distribute it to your bandmates. I wish I had seen their ad copy before I bought it. After a week with it, imho, it doesn't really work well for that either.

A looper is usually as simple as step on the switch, play, step on the switch to playback, add loops until you're out of memory. And, it's all done with your foot so you can do it on the fly. Easy peasy lemon lawnchairs. Some loopers have multiple save slots so that you can save what you layed down. I think one of the JamMan options even uses an SD card.