Lesson #25 - Long Time Coming Blues (video)

jmin

Student Of The Blues
I've been playing with this lesson for a couple of months. Griff has been talking about this style of playing ("playing on the porch") for a while, and I think it's even close to what his October Challenge is about. I added a few chords to the lesson for an intro...

I decided to give it another shot with the video...it's getting easier! Of course, when I showed it to my girlfriend, she said, "Why do you guitar players move your arm around so much?" (And she imitated a rather spastic playing style). When I reviewed it, she's right! This must be another bad technique thing I got going...so many!

Long time Coming Blues (YouTube)

Thanks for listening!

Last edited:
Though I don't detect it, surely you are being facetious about the arm thing. I sure don't see any unnecessary movement. Very nicely played. I like that Fender acoustic with the Strat style headstock.

jmin

Student Of The Blues
Though I don't detect it, surely you are being facetious about the arm thing. I sure don't see any unnecessary movement. Very nicely played. I like that Fender acoustic with the Strat style headstock.
Thanks, Eblues! I’ll tell her!
I’m enjoying the Fender Sonoran. I got it a few years ago to get the feel for acoustic playing. I think it would be a good “playing-out guitar,” because it projects very well (Dreadnought). But, just playing at home, I’d like a smaller body - for comfort. Fender did come out with a new line I’ll have to check out!

Ivan

Blues Newbie
Hey jmin...that was a long time coming....that was great! You pretty well nailed it form start to end. Timing, feel and touch...it's all there. Including great tone. The video quality is excellent also. You've pretty well have that mastered now as well.

Not sure about the hand moving around thing....I thought that was what good guitar players call staying in the groove and feeling the love!

Keep em coming...

Jalapeno

Student Of The Blues